My baby came home

My baby came home
with a bloody, scraped up knee.
My baby came home
crying, with a limp and torn jeans.
My baby came home
with sobbing breath and tear streams.
My baby came home
to a mother’s deep warm arms.
My baby came home
to be healed from all of life’s scars.
My baby came home
knowing too much of war.
My baby came home
weary and needing rest.
My baby came home
with nowhere else for tenderness.
My baby came home
and snuggled in my mothering breasts.
My baby came home
when he needed an embrace.
My baby came home
to look on a loving face.
My baby came home
when threats as wind beat down this place.
My baby came home
running quiet, soft sneakers, wooden floor.
My baby came home.

One thought on “My baby came home

Leave a Reply

